What do you know about Extra Virgin Olive Oil ?

shutterstock 110941199

The extra virgin quality of an olive oil is a guarantee of a good quality. TRUE BUT

The qualifier extra virgin is a quality criterion since it is defined by the regulations based on physicochemical and organoleptic evaluation criteria, but as for wines of which its quality varies from table wine to raw wine, for extra virgin olive oils, quality also depends on the type and variety of olives, their degree of maturation, the type of extraction system and conservation.

Color is an oil quality criterion. FALSE

Indeed, the green color, with more or less intense yellow highlights exclusively depends on the type of olive, degree of maturation and the extraction process. Only the presence of red highlights is indicative of a poorly maintained oil.

A bitter extra virgin olive oil and/or pungency is a poor quality oil. FALSE

The spice is characteristic of fresh oils, young and rich in natural antioxidants : polyphenols.

The acidity of olive oil is perceived by the taste. FALSE

Acidity is a measurable parameter only by chemical analysis ; and anyway, this does not necessarily imply a good flavor.

An unfiltered olive oil is a low quality oil. FALSE

Unfiltered olive oil contains micro particles (olive paste), which will tend to settle to the bottom of the container. The presence of these particles is therefore not to be considered as a defect. In a way, this is proof of the authenticity of the oil; unfiltered olive oil is genuine oil that preserves its content of good nutritional health and preserving its benefits.

Freezing olive oil is a low quality oil. FALSE

Olive oil may solidify in cold weather, from 12 ° C. Between 5 ° C and 10 ° C is the partial solidification when white bubbles start to show. This is a quite normal phenomenon; it does not affect the nutritional qualities of the oil. To remedy the situation, you just have to let the oil rest at room temperature for several hours (may take up to 48 hours) Once warmed, olive oil becomes liquid again.

Que saviez-vous sur l'Huile d'Olive Extra Vierge ?

shutterstock 110941199

Le qualitatif extra vierge d'une huile d'olive est garant d'une bonne qualité. Vrais mais

Le qualificatif vierge extra est un critère de qualité puisqu’il est défini par la réglementation en fonction de critères physico-chimiques et une évaluation organoleptique, mais tout comme pour les vins dont la qualité varie du vin de table au grand cru, pour les huiles d’olive  extra vierge, la qualité dépend également du type et de la variété des olives, de leur degré de maturation, du type de système d’extraction et de la conservation.

La couleur est un critère de qualité de l'huile. Faux

En effet, la couleur verte, avec des reflets jaunes plus ou moins intenses, dépend exclusivement du type d’olive, du degré de maturation et du procédé d’extraction.
Seule la présence de reflets rouges est indicative d'une huile mal conservée.

Une huile d'olive extra-vierge amère et/ou piquant est une huile de mauvaise qualitée. Faux

Le piquant est caractéristique des huiles fraîches, jeunes et riches en antioxydants naturels: les polyphénols.

L'acidité de l'huile d'olive est perçue par le goût. Faux

L’acidité est un paramètre mesurable uniquement par une analyse chimique; et de toute façon, cela n’implique pas nécessairement une bonne saveur.

Une huile d'olive non filtrée est une huile de mauvaise qualitée. Faux

Dans une Huile d'olive non filtrée les microparticules (la pâte des olives) auront tendance à se déposer au fond du contenant. La présence de ces particules n'est donc pas à être considérée comme un défaut. Dans un sens, c'est la preuve de l'authenticité de l'huile ; une huile d'olive non filtrée est une huile authentique qui préserve toute sa teneur de bonne santé nutritionnelle et qui préserve ses bienfaits.

Une huile d'olive qui se fige est une huile de mauvaise qualitée. Faux

L'huile d'olive peut se figer par temps froid, à partir de 12°C. Entre 5°C et 10°C la solidification est partielle est des bulles blanches apparaissent. Il s'agit d'un phénomène tout à fait normal, ce phénomène n'affecte pas ses qualités nutritives. Pour remédier à la situation, vous n’avez qu’à laisser reposer l’huile à une température ambiante pendant plusieurs heures (peut prendre jusqu’à 48 heures) Une fois réchauffée, l'huile d'olive redevient liquide.