The culture of olive trees

Olive growing has been present in Tunisia since ancient times. Later, during the Carthaginian and Roman era, it has known a great growth as shown by the Carthaginian Scholar Mago, who is considered to be the Father of Agronomy for his twenty eight volume encyclopedia on agriculture.

In this masterpiece, he emphasized, the importance of olive cultivation since the Punic civilization as the remains of the oil presses stone mill found everywhere in the Tunisian countryside, prove it.

Today, Tunisia is ranked among the top four oil producing countries worldwide.

Olive trees are present throughout all these regions, and mainly in the mountainous region of Zaghouan. This region sets itself apart by the virtues of its waters, its roman remains, and its aqua duct that supplied drinking water over a distance of 90 kilometers towards Carthage.

Our oils come from the Ben Fredj family olive yards which are a part of the Nadhour locality that extends to the southern foothills of the mountain of Zaghouan.

They owe their high quality not only to the mildness of the Mediterranean climate and its warm sun, but also to the Ben Fredj family and ancestral know-how.

This family remains faithful to the traditional procedures transmitted from father to son for decades; nonetheless, they do not hesitate to adopt the effective means of modern technology for they cultivate their olive groves with the utmost love and passion.

La culture de l'oliver

La culture de l’olivier en Tunisie y est présente depuis l’Antiquité. Plus tard, pendant l’époque carthaginoise et romaine, elle a connu un grand essor comme en témoigne l’œuvre du savant carthaginois Magon, considéré comme le père de l’agronomie pour son encyclopédie sur l’agriculture en vingt huit volume.

Dans ce chef d’œuvre, il a mis en valeur l’importance de l’oléiculture depuis la civilisation punique comme le prouve les vestiges de pressoirs à meule de pierre qu’on trouve partout dans les campagnes tunisiennes.

Aujourd’hui la Tunisie se classe au rang des quatre premiers pays producteurs de l’huile d’olive à travers le monde.

L’olivier est présent partout dans toutes ses régions, notamment dans la région montagneuse de Zaghouan. Cette région se distingue par les vertus de ses eaux, ses vestiges romains et son aqueduc qui amenait l’eau potable sur une distance de 90 kilomètres vers Carthage.

Nos huiles proviennent de l’olivette de la famille Ben Fredj faisant partie de la localité de Nadhour qui s’étend sur les contreforts méridionaux de la montagne de Zaghouan.

Elles doivent leurs qualités supérieures non seulement à la douceur du climat méditerranéen et son soleil réchauffant, mais aussi au savoir familial et ancestral des Ben Fredj.

Depuis des décennies, fidèles à des procèdes traditionnels transmis de père en fils et aussi n’hésitant pas tout de même à adopter les moyens de technologie modernes, cette famille cultive avec amour et passion son oliveraie.